Rental Agreements DIY USA

Rental Agreements and Lease Agreements for USA Property

Residential Tenancy Rental Agreements Lease Kits for houses, apartments, condominiums and all kinds of residential property the United States of America.
Commercial Property Lease agreements for shops, offices, factories, warehouses and all kinds of businesses

Tenancy Laws in the USA

Tenant protection laws

America's landlord and tenant laws vary from state to state and are changing all the time. This guide covers rules relating to lease agreements and rental agreements. This page does not provide any legal advice. You should seek your own independant advice and check with your state's rules and regulations

Overview of Landlord and Tenant rules


  Security Deposit Rent Increase Notice Month to Month Notice Late Fees Return Check Fees
Alabama One month's rent.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 35 days
No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $30 plus any collection costs
Alaska Two months' rent, unless rent exceeds $2,000 per month.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 14 days if the tenant gives proper notice to terminate; 30 days if the tenant does not give proper notice.
30 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $30
Arizona One and one-half months' rent (unless tenant voluntarily agrees to pay more).
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 14 days
30 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
Amount: Close to actual losses, lease agreement must provide for late fees.
When: No restrictions
$25
Arkansas Two months' rent.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
No restriction Tenant - no notice
Landlord - 10 days notice
No restriction $25
California Two months' rent (unfurnished).
3 months' rent (furnished). plus one-half month's rent for waterbed.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 3 weeks
30 days notice or 60 days notice when the increase is 10% of the lowest rent in the last 12 months Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 60 days notice
Amount: Reasonable amount if provided in the lease agreement by stating "Because landlord and tenant agree that actual damages for late rent payments are very difficult or impossible to determine landlord and tenant agree to the following state late charge as liquidated damages".
When: No restrictions
$25
Colorado No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 1 month unless lease states longer period. Not more than 60 days.
72 hours (not inc weekends or holidays) if hazardous condition involving gas equipment requires tenant to vacate.
10 days notice Tenant - 10 days notice
Landlord -130 days notice
No restriction $20 plus any collection costs
Connecticut Two months' rent (tenant under 62 years of age); one month's rent (tenant 62 years of age or older).
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: The later of 30 days, or 15 days of receiving tenant's forwarding address.
No restriction Tenant - no notice
Landlord - 3 days notice
Amount: No restriction
When: rent is 9 days late
$20 plus any collection costs
Delaware One month's rent on leases for one year or more.
No limit for month-to-month rental agreements (may require additional pet deposit of up to one month's rent)
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 20 days
No restriction. Tenant - no notice
Landlord - 3 days notice
Amount: Cannot exceed 5% of rent amount due.
When: Rent is 5 days past due. 3 additional days (for a total of 8 days) if the landlord does not have an office in the county where the apartment is located
$40
District of Columbia One month's rent.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 45 days
No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $25
Florida No statutory limit.
Separate account: Yes
Interest not required but if made, rules apply.
Return deposit: 15 to 60 days, if tenant disputes amount deducted.
No restriction Tenant - 15 days notice
Landlord - 15 days notice
No restriction Depends on Check amount
$.01 to $50 = $25 fee
$50.01 to $300 = $30 fee
$300.01 and over = $40 fee or 5% of the face value of the check.
Plus collection costs
Georgia No statutory limit.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 1 month
Landlords who are natural persons (not corporations, LLCs, or other legal entities) need not put deposits into escrow, inspect at move-out, or provide itemized deductions.

No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 60 days notice
No restriction The greater of either $30 or 5% of the face value of the check.
Hawaii One month's rent.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 14 days
45 days notice Tenant - 28 days notice
Landlord - 45 days notice
No restriction $30 plus any collection costts
Idaho No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 21 days to 30 days if landlord / tenant agree
15 days notice Tenant - 1 month notice
Landlord - 1 month notice
No restriction $20 plus any collection costts
Illinois No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: Yes - only landlords with 25 or more rental units.
Return deposit: 30 to 45 days if tenant disputes deductions.
30 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $25 plus any collection costts
Indiana No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 45 days
10 days notice unless parties agree otherwise Tenant - 1 month notice
Landlord - 1 month notice
No restriction $20 plus any collection costts
Iowa Two months' rent
Separate account: Yes
Interest not required but if made, rules apply.
Return deposit: 30 days
30 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
Amount: Max $10 per day. Max $40 per month
When: No restriction
$30
Kansas One month's rent (unfurnished).
One and half months' rent (furnished); plus half month's rent for pets.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $30
Kentucky No statutory limit.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 to 60 days if tenant disputes deductions.
30 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $25
Louisiana No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 1 month
No restriction Tenant - 10 days notice
Landlord - 10 days notice
No restriction The greater of either $25 or 5% of the face value of the check.
Maine Two months' rent
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days (if written rental agreement) or 21 days (if tenancy is at will)
45 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
Amount: Not more than 4% of the rent due during rental period.
When: Rent is 15 days late
$25
Maryland Two months' rent
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 30 to 45 days if tenant has been evicted abandoned the premises.
1 month notice Tenant - 2 months’ notice if Unit is located in Montgomery County (and is not a single family home) or Baltimore City, otherwise 1 month’s notice.
Landlord - 2 months’ notice if Unit is located in Montgomery County (and is not a single family home) or Baltimore City, otherwise 1 month’s notice.
Amount: Max 5% of rent due.
When: No restriction
$35
Massachusetts One month's rent
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 30 days
30 days notice or time between rent payments, whichever is longer Tenant - 30 days notice or time between rent payments, whichever is longer.
Landlord - 30 days notice or time between rent payments, whichever is longer.
Amount: No restriction.
When: Rent is 30 days past due
$25
Michigan One and a half months' rent.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
No restriction Tenant - notice is timeframe between rent payments.
Landlord - notice is timeframe between rent payments.
No restriction $25
Minnesota

No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 3 weeks after tenant leaves and landlord receives forwarding address; five days if tenant must leave due to building
being unhabitable.

No restriction Tenant - 3 months or timeframe between rent payments, whichever is shorter.
Landlord - 3 months or timeframe between rent payments, whichever is shorter.
No restriction $30 plus any collection costs including possible civil penalties.
Mississippi No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 45 days
No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $40
Missouri Two months' rent.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
No restriction Tenant -1 month notice
Landlord - 1 month notice
No restriction $25
Montana No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days; 10 days if no deductions.
15 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $30
Nebraska One month's rent. Add quarter months' rent for pets.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 14 days
No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $25
Nevada Three months' rent.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
45 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
Lease agreement must indicate late fee. $25
New Hampshire One month's rent or $100, whichever is greater. No limit if landlord and tenant share facilities.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 30 days.
Shared facilities: If deposit is more than 30 days' rent landlord must provide written agreement acknowledging receipt and specifying when deposit return timeframe. If no written agreement, 20 days after tenant vacates.
30 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice for cause only.
No restriction $25
New Jersey One and a half months' rent.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 30 days. 5 days in case of fire, flood, condemnation, or evacuation.
1 month notice Tenant -1 month notice
Landlord - 1 month notice
Amount: Reasonable.
When: Rent is 5 days late
$30
New Mexico One month's rent (for rental agreement of less than 1 year)
No limit for leases of 1 year or more.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
30 days notice before rent is due Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
Amount: Not more than 10% of rent per rental period.
When: Landlord is required to notify tenant of the late fee charged at the end of the next rental period.
$30
New York

Click here for more NY tenancy rules.
No statutory limit for nonregulated units.
No deposit limits or specific return procedures for nonregulated units in buildings with five or fewer units.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: reasonable time
No restriction Tenant -1 month notice
Landlord - 1 month notice
No restrictions at state law but may be limited by rent control regulations at the local or county level. $20 plus reasonable collection costs
North Carolina One and a half months' rent for month-to-month agreements.
two months' rent if term is longer than two months.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
No restriction Tenant - 7 days notice
Landlord - 7 days notice
Amount: Not more than 5% of rent due or $15 whichever is the greater.
When: After rent is 5 days late
$25
North Dakota One month's rent or $1,500 if tenant has a pet whichever is higher.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 30 days

30 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice, or 25 days’ notice when landlord gave notice of change, modification or amendment to lease agreement.
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $30
Ohio No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 30 days

No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction The greater of either $30 or 10% of the face value of the check.
Oklahoma No statutory limit.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $25
Oregon No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 31 days
No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
Flat Rate is reasonable market rate
Daily Rate: not more than 5% of Flat Rate with a maximum of 5% of the rent amount for a rental period.
When: Rent is 4 days late and when indicated in the lease agreement.
$25
Pennsylvania Two months' rent for first year.
O one month's rent for second and further years.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 30 days
No restriction Tenant - no restrictions
Landlord - no restrictions
No restriction $30
Rhode Island One month's rent.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 20 days
30 days notice Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $25
South Carolina No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $30
South Dakota One month's rent.
Larger deposit can be charged if special conditions pose a danger to maintenance of the premises.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 2 weeks to return entire deposit or a portion, and supply reasons.
45 days for a written, itemized accounting on tenant request.
1 month notice Tenant - 1 month or after notice of a change in the lease, 15 days’ notice from the date of notification of change
Landlord - 1 month notice.
No restriction $40
Tennessee No statutory limit.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: No deadline, 10 days to itemize.
No restriction Tenant - 30 days notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
Amount: not more that 10% of the of the amount that is late
When: rent is 5 days late, but if the 5th day is a weekend or holiday, the next business day and no late fee can be charged.
$30 plus any collection costs
Texas No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days
No restriction Tenant -1 month notice
Landlord - 1 month notice
Amount: Reasonably close to the actual losses and must be indicated in the lease agreement. Landlord can charge initial fee and daily fee.
When: rent is 2 days late
$30 plus any collection costs
Utah No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: Later of 30 days or 15 days of receipt of forwarding address.
No restriction Tenant - No notice
Landlord - 15 days notice
No restriction $20 plus any collection costs
Vermont No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 14 days
30 days notice Tenant - timeframe between rental payments notice
Landlord - 30 days notice
No restriction $25
Virginia Two months' rent.
Separate account: No
Interest required: Yes
Return deposit: 45 days

No restriction Tenant -30 days notice
Landlord - If written lease and Tenant has rented to Unit for 2 years or less, 30 days written notice, or 60 days if Tenant has rented the Unit longer than 2 years. If no written lease and Tenant has rented the Unit for 2 years or less, 60 days notice, if longer than 2 years, 90 days notice.
No restriction $35
Washington No statutory limit.
Separate account: Yes
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 14 days
30 days notice Tenant - 20 days notice
Landlord - 20 days notice
No restriction $30 The fee is considered a handling fee for a returned check. Payor is also liable for any collection costs.
West Virginia No statutory limit. No restriction Tenant - 1 month notice
Landlord - 1 month notice
No restriction $25
Wisconsin No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 21 days
No restriction Tenant - 28 days notice
Landlord - 28 days notice
No restriction $20 plus any collection costs
Wyoming No statutory limit.
Separate account: No
Interest required: No
Return deposit: 30 days, or 15 days of receiving tenant's forwarding address, whichever is later.
6 0 days if there is damage.
No restriction Tenant - no notice
Landlord - no notice
No restriction $25 plus any collection costs

 

About Rental Agreements DIY USA | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Site Map

Rental Agreements DIY USA 390 Elmwood Avenue, Buffalo, New York 14222
Ph: 1-855-399-5595
© 2015 Rental Agreements DIY USA